Recette tirée du livre

STREET FOOD DIARIES

de Matt Basile; photographies de Kyla Zanardi

INGRÉDIENTS

2 gousses d’ail

10 piments chili rouges frais, entiers

1 c. à soupe d’huile d’olive

1 boîte de tomates en dés

12 oignons blancs perlés ou cipollini

450 g (1 lb) de haricots verts équeutés

2 c. à soupe de beurre non salé

200 g (7 oz) de parmesan frais râpé

PRÉPARATION

De quoi vous laisser bouche bée!

Hacher finement l’ail et les piments. Chauffer l’huile d’olive à feu élevé dans une casserole, puis y déposer l’ail et les piments. Cuire environ 2 minutes puis ajouter les tomates et leur jus. Cuire pendant 30 minutes en remuant à l’occasion. Ajouter 2 tasses d’eau au mélange, bien brasser et poursuivre la cuisson pendant 30 minutes supplémentaires.

Dans une autre casserole, faire bouillir de l’eau et ajouter les oignons. Blanchir les oignons pour faciliter le retrait de la pelure; ils deviendront bien mous lors de la cuisson avec les haricots et la sauce. Cuire les oignons de 5 à 6 minutes; les retirer de l’eau puis les peler immédiatement.

Lentement mais sûrement

Après que la sauce ait cuit pendant 1 heure, y plonger les haricots verts et les oignons pelés. (Les haricots peuvent avoir été blanchis au préalable, mais ce n’est pas indispensable.) Les haricots non blanchis seront plus foncés et auront une allure plus rustique, tandis que les haricots blanchis seront d’une couleur plus vive. Je préfère personnellement l’approche rustique. Bien mélanger les ingrédients pour les recouvrir de sauce. Ajouter le beurre, ½ tasse d’eau, et le parmesan. Réduire le feu au minimum et laisser mijoter lentement dans la sauce de 30 à 45 minutes, ou jusqu’à ce que les haricots et les oignons fondent dans la bouche. Transférer le tout dans une grande assiette de service et couvrir de parmesan râpé.

DONNE DE 4 À 6 PORTIONS

Excerpted from

STREET FOOD DIARIES

by Matt Basile. Photography by Kyla Zanardi.

INGREDIENTS

2 cloves garlic

10 whole fresh red chili peppers

1 tbsp.  olive oil

1 can chopped tomatoes

12 white pearl onions or Cipollini onions

1 lb. green beans, topped and tailed

2 tbsp. unsalted butter

7 oz. freshly grated Parmesan cheese

METHOD

You’ve heard of the jumping bean? Well, this one kicks.

Finely chop the garlic and chilies. Warm the olive oil in a saucepan over high heat and toss in the garlic and chilies. Cook for approximately 2 minutes and then add the can of tomatoes with their juice. Cook the tomatoes, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes. Add 2 cups of water to the sauce, stir to combine and continue cooking for another 30 minutes.

In a separate saucepan, boil some water over high heat and add the onions. All you want to do here is blanch the onions briefly so that you can peel the skins off properly and so that they get really soft when you cook them with the beans and sauce. Cook the onions for 5 or 6 minutes and then remove them from the water and peel them immediately.

Low, slow and sugo

After the sauce has been cooking for 1 hour, throw in the green beans and the peeled onions. You can either blanch the beans in boiling water first for a few minutes or toss them in raw. Raw beans will have a darker, more rustic colour and blanched beans will stay brighter. I lean toward the rustic approach. Give the ingredients a good stir so that they’re completely covered with the sauce. Add the butter, an additional ½ cup of water and the Parmesan. Turn down the heat to low and allow the beans to slowly cook in the sauce for at least another 30 to 45 minutes or until the beans and onions are melt-in-your-mouth soft. Transfer the saucy beans to a large dish and grate Parmesan cheese all over them.

SERVES 4-6